PrintPrint © 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

2008 Houston College Classic All-Tournament Team announced
03/02/2008 11:32 PM ET
HOUSTON -- The All-Tournament Team for the 2008 Houston College Classic presented by the Houston Chronicle was announced following the completion of Sunday night's concluding game, an 8-7 win by Texas over Houston.

Rice University was the only undefeated team in the Classic at 3-0, and third baseman Diego Seastrunk was named the Classic's Most Outstanding Player. Seastrunk hit .583 (7-for-12) with two home runs, five RBIs, and 13 total bases in Rice's three victories, and the sophomore third baseman from Channelview, Texas, was joined on the All-Tournament Team by three teammates: freshman outfielder Chad Mozingo, freshman shortstop Rick Hague, and sophomore right-handed pitcher Ryan Berry, who made his second appearance on the squad in as many years.

Rice's four players on the All-Tournament Team paced all six participating schools, followed by three from the University of Houston, two each from Texas Tech and Oklahoma, and one each from Texas and Tennessee. The final records for the three-day tournament for all participants were as follows: Rice (3-0), Oklahoma (2-1), Houston (1-2), Tennessee (1-2), Texas (1-2), and Texas Tech (1-2).

C Cameron Rupp, Texas
1B Brian Pounds, Houston
2B Joey Kenworthy, Texas Tech
SS Rick Hague, Rice
3B Diego Seastrunk, Rice
OF Roger Kieschnick, Texas Tech
OF Chad Mozingo, Rice
OF Jake Stewart, Houston
DH Mike Gosse, Oklahoma
P Michael Rocha, Oklahoma
P Bryan Morgado, Tennessee
P Wes Musick, Houston
P Ryan Berry, Rice

MOST OUTSTANDING PLAYER: 3B Diego Seastrunk, Rice.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Astros Homepage   |