To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
1962-1969 | 1970-1979 | 1980-1989 | 1990-1999 | 2000-Present

Houston claimed its first NL West title in 1980 with a 93-70 record after defeating Los Angeles in a one-game playoff in the 163rd game of the regular season.
1980  - Houston claims its first title as the Astros win the NL West with a 93-70 record, defeating Los Angeles in a one-game playoff...Niekro wins 20 games again...Joe Morgan returns to Houston to add leadership in the Astros pennant drive.
1981  - Houston gets off to a slow start, but takes advantage of the split season created by the player's strike to win the "second season" with a 33-20 mark, earning a spot in the playoffs...Nolan Ryan hurls his major league record fifth no-hitter, blanking the Dodgers on September 26...Ryan also leads the league with a 1.69 ERA...Art Howe establishes a club record with a 23-game hitting streak.
1982  - Ray Knight, an off-season acquisition from Cincinnati for Cesar Cedeno, remains among the league leaders in hitting for most of the season, finishing with a .294 mark...Bob Lillis takes over as interim manager on August 10 and Astros finish 28-23 under Lillis.
1983  - After struggling to an 0-9 start, the Astros rebound with one of their finest seasons...Houston finishes at 85-77, the third-highest win total in club history...Jose Cruz battles for NL batting title to last day and finishes third...Nolan Ryan surpasses Walter Johnson's all-time strikeout mark.
1984  - The Astros bounce back from another slow start, finishing second in the NL West...1983 All-Star Dickie Thon is lost for the season in the fifth game after being hit in the head by a pitch from the Mets' Mike Torrez...Cruz repeats as the club MVP by posting a .312 average and a career-high 95 RBI.
1985  - The Astros celebrate the Astrodome's 20th Anniversary with a 2-1 opening day victory over the Dodgers in front of 42,876 fans...Niekro becomes Houston's all-time winningest pitcher with his 5-0 shutout of San Francisco on June 9th...Ryan becomes first player to record 4,000 strikeouts in a career when he fans Danny Heep on July 11 at the Astrodome...Cruz reaches the 2,000 hit plateau on September 15.
1986  - A Silver Anniversary season turns golden as the Astros win their second NL West title...Rookie skipper Hal Lanier guides the team to a club-record 96 regular season wins...Lanier earns Manager of the Year notice from four different press associations after the season...righthander Mike Scott becomes Houston's first ever Cy Young award winner, leading the league in ERA (2.22) and strikeouts (306), and winning 18 games for the second straight year.
1987  - Houston finishes the season with the third-highest attendance total in baseball (1,909,902)...Nolan Ryan leads the majors in strikeouts with 270 and ties for the lead in ERA with a 2.76 mark...Mike Scott is named the NL starter for the All-Star game and throws two scoreless innings.
1988  - Houston wins its 2,000th game 6-3 over San Diego on opening night...Mike Scott comes within one out of his second career no-hitter on June 12 vs. Atlanta...Bob Knepper tosses a one-hitter on September 21 vs. the Braves.
1989  - Mike Scott becomes the fourth Houston pitcher to win 20 games and wins his second Astros MVP award...the Astros win 10 straight on the road from May 7-31 to set a club record...their 10-game winning streak from May 26 to June 4 tied another club mark...Glenn Davis hits a career-high 34 homers.
1962-1969 | 1970-1979 | 1980-1989 | 1990-1999 | 2000-Present