To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
1962-1969 | 1970-1979 | 1980-1989 | 1990-1999 | 2000-Present

After winning their first ever National League Central crown in 1997, the Astros prepare to take the field against the Braves for their first postseason game in 11 years.
1990  - Danny Darwin had a league-leading 2.21 ERA, becoming the third Houston pitcher in five years to lead the NL in ERA...Franklin Stubbs sets a club mark for lefthanders with 23 home runs...Houston ties a league record by playing in 27 extra-inning games...on May 17, Eric Anthony becomes the first Astros batter to hit an upper deck home run since 1970.
1991  - Jeff Bagwell becomes the Astros' first BBWAA Rookie of the Year after hitting .294 with 15 homers and club rookie record of 82 RBI...Craig Biggio leads the club in hitting for the second straight year (.295) and joins Pete Harnisch on the NL All-Star team.
1992  - Despite a grueling 26-day road trip made necessary when the Astrodome played host to the Republican National Convention, the Astros rallied in the second half to post the club's first non-losing season since 1989...Craig Biggio became the first player ever to make the All-Star team at both catcher (1991) and second base (1992)...Doug Jones was also named to the All-Star team and set the club single-season record with 36 saves.
1993  - The Astros established franchise records in several offensive categories, including batting average (.267), home runs (138) and doubles (288)...paced by Craig Biggio's career-high 21 round-trippers, seven Houston players totaled double figures in homers for the first time in club history...Mark Portugal set a club record by winning his final 12 decisions...Darryl Kile posted a nine-game win streak, and tosses the ninth no-hitter in Astros history on September 8 against New York.
1994  - Jeff Bagwell became the first Houston player ever to win the NL Most Valuable Player award...Bagwell was a unanimous selection for only the third time in league history after batting .368 and setting club records with 73 extra base hits, 39 homers and 116 RBI...Bagwell earns All-Star honors along with Craig Biggio, Ken Caminiti, Doug Drabek and rookie John Hudek...Rookie skipper Terry Collins guided the club to a 66-49 mark, one-half game behind Cincinnati, before a players' strike ended the season on August 12.
1995  - The Astros took the the chase for the NL's first-ever Wild Card playoff berth to the final day of the season before finishing one game behind Colorado...Craig Biggio was voted the league's starting second baseman in the All-Star Game and slugged a solo home run...he was later voted team MVP and picked up his second consecutive Gold Glove award.
1996  - A two-and-a-half game lead at the end of August slipped away and denied Houston a shot at the NL Central title...the Astros suffered through an 8-17 September, which included a nine-game losing streak, to fall out of the playoff chase...Jeff Bagwell slugged 31 homers and set single season record with 48 doubles and 120 RBI...Derek Bell knocked in 113 runs, marking the first time ever the club had two, 100-plus RBI players in the same season...Craig Biggio collected his third consecutive Rawlings Gold Glove Award...Shane Reynolds won 16 games, while he and Darryl Kile each topped the 200-mark in strikeouts.
1997  - The Astros captured their first-ever NL Central title and their first division title in 11 years...Jeff Bagwell banged 43 homers and swiped 31 bases to become Houston's first "30-30" man...Bagwell set new single-season club records in homers (43), RBI (135), total bases (335) and extra-base hits (85)...Craig Biggio became the first player in major league history to have not grounded into a double play in a 162-game selected Bagwell and Biggio to represent the Astros in the 1997 All-Star Game, marking the first time that two Astros position players were selected to start in the Mid-Summer classic...Darryl Kile won a team-high 19 games and was also selected to the All-Star Team...Larry Dierker became one of only six skippers in major league history who won a division title in his first year as manager.
1998  - The Astros won their second consecutive NL Central title en route to a franchise-best 102-win season...the club drew a record 2.45 million fans and drew ten crowds of 50,000 or more ...Larry Dierker was voted NL Manager of the Year by the BBWAA and Baseball America...General Manager Gerry Hunsicker was voted The Sporting News Executive of the Year...Craig Biggio joined Tris Speaker as the only two players in the century who have hit 50 doubles and stolen 50 bases in the same season...Biggio and Moises Alou were selected to represent the Astros in the 1998 All-Star Game in Denver...Biggio broke Cesar Cedeno's record for the most runs scored by an Astro...he and Alou each received Silver Slugger Awards for their offensive contributions and both finished in the top five in NL MVP voting...five Astros starting pitchers, including Randy Johnson who was acquired just minutes before the July 31 non-waiver trading deadline, finished the season with double-figures in wins.
1999  - The Astros bid adieu to the Astrodome in dramatic fashion, clinching their third straight NL Central title on the final day of the regular season before a sold out crowd... standing-room only crowds were commonplace during the last year of baseball in the Dome as a record 2.7 million fans flocked to the Eighth Wonder of the World...despite an injury-riddled year that landed 14 players on the DL and sidelined three members of the coaching staff for significant periods of time, Houston won 97 games, only five victories fewer than its record-setting 102-win season of 1998...the pitching staff produced two 20-game winners for the first time in club history in Mike Hampton (22-4) and Jose Lima (21-10)...Hampton and Jeff Bagwell were recognized as the best offensive players at their respective positions as each was a recipient of the Silver Slugger Award...four Astros were selected to represent the National League in the 70th annual All-Star Game (Bagwell, Hampton, Lima, Billy Wagner)...Wagner was the recipient of the 1999 Rolaids Relief Man Award.
1962-1969 | 1970-1979 | 1980-1989 | 1990-1999 | 2000-Present