© 2005 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/18/05 8:46 PM ET

Ensberg, Taveras receive TSN awards

Astros players honored for regular-season achievements

ST. LOUIS -- Morgan Ensberg and Willy Taveras were honored by The Sporting News on Tuesday, receiving two coveted year-end awards for their on-field contributions to the Houston Astros.

Taveras was named the National League Rookie of the Year, and Ensberg was named as the third baseman on the NL All-Star team.

This year, 498 Major League players -- 221 in the American League, 277 in the National League -- voted for the annual TSN awards. They include Player of the Year (Andruw Jones), Managers of the Year (Bobby Cox, Ozzie Guillen), Rookies of the Year (Taveras, Huston Street), Comeback Players of the Year (Jason Giambi, Ken Griffey Jr.) and Pitchers of the Year (Bartolo Colon, Chris Carpenter).

The National League All-Star team includes first baseman Albert Pujols, second baseman Jeff Kent, shortstop Felipe Lopez, third baseman Ensberg, catcher Paul Lo Duca, reliever Chad Cordero and outfielders Miguel Cabrera, Griffey Jr. and Jones.

Taveras, 23, made the jump from Double-A to the big leagues and hit .291 (172-for-592) with 34 stolen bases. He led the Majors with 70 infield hits and 29 bunt singles. The center fielder was also named Rookie of the Year by the Houston chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Ensberg, voted Most Valuable Player by Houston's BBWAA, batted .283 (149-for-526) with 36 homers and 101 RBIs. His homer and RBI totals are a record for Houston third basemen.

Alyson Footer is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.