© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

06/29/09 1:00 PM ET

Pudge keeps place in All-Star voting

Astros catcher third in balloting among NL backstops

HOUSTON -- Ivan Rodriguez is adding to his Major League record total of games played at catcher on nearly a daily basis, and now the Astros' backstop is holding his own in a run for another appearance in the All-Star Game.

Rodriguez, who set the record for most games played at catcher on June 17, remained third among National League catchers in the latest All-Star balloting results released Monday. A 14-time All-Star, Rodriguez trails only Yadier Molina of St. Louis and Brian McCann of Atlanta.

Meanwhile, teammates Lance Berkman and Miguel Tejada also held their spots. Berkman is fifth at first base for the second consecutive week behind Albert Pujols of St. Louis, Ryan Howard of Philadelphia, Prince Fielder of Milwaukee and Adrian Gonzalez of San Diego.

Tejada, who last week moved up a spot, remains in fourth behind Florida's Hanley Ramirez, Philadelphia's Jimmy Rollins and Milwaukee's J.J. Hardy for the right to start in the Midsummer Classic at Busch Stadium on July 14 in St. Louis.

In-stadium voting has ended, but fans can still vote online for starters up to 25 times with the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint Online Ballot at MLB.com and all 30 club sites until Thursday at 10:59 p.m. CT.

Starting rosters will be announced during the 2009 All-Star Game Selection Show presented by Pepsi on TBS on July 5. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint Final Vote at MLB.com.

And the voting doesn't end there. Fans will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet at the Midsummer Classic via the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint MVP Vote at MLB.com.

The All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX and around the world by Major League Baseball International. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio play-by-play, while MLB.com will offer extensive online coverage.

Brian McTaggart is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.