© 2010 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/01/10 9:00 PM ET

Bourn done for season; Wandy to start Sunday

HOUSTON -- If it hadn't been closed already, Astros manager Brad Mills pretty much slammed the door Friday on any chance of center fielder Michael Bourn being able to play in one of the season's final two games. Bourn has been out since Sept. 19 with a strained oblique.

"He's getting better, but I really don't think it would be advantageous for him to get him out there," Mills said. "If all of a sudden he shows up [Saturday] and he feels 100 percent and we go out and put him through all kinds of tests and he seems fine, the risk and reward there with him isn't really big on the upside simply because he hasn't played in the last 10, 11 games."

Even if he doesn't get into a game, Bourn has wrapped up his second consecutive National League stolen base crown. He's stolen 52 bases, which entering Friday was 15 more than the Mets' Angel Pagan, who ranked second in the NL with 37. Bourn led the league with 61 steals last year.

In other injury news, left-hander Wandy Rodriguez is still expected to start the final game of the season on Sunday despite not being able to throw his side bullpen session Thursday because of tightness in his back. Rodriguez threw in the bullpen Friday instead.

"He showed up today feeling great," Mills said.

Astros announce Minor League team MVPs

HOUSTON -- The Astros announced their 2010 Most Valuable Players for each of the club's Minor League affiliates on Friday, as selected by the field staff of each team.

Outfielder Drew Locke was named MVP at Triple-A Round Rock after hitting .279 with 17 homers and 74 RBIs, and infielder Koby Clemens was named the MVP at Double-A Corpus Christi. He hit .241 with 26 homers, 85 RBIs and a .350 on-base percentage.

At Class A Lancaster, outfielder Brandon Barnes hit .259 with 27 homers, 31 doubles and 80 RBIs to earn MVP honors. Outfielder Jacob Goebbert finished his second professional season with a .291 average, 48 doubles, 10 home runs and 98 RBIs to earn MVP at Class A Lexington.

Other MVPs were infielder Ben Orloff (short-season Tri-City), outfielder Telvin Nash (rookie-league Greeneville), right-hander Jose Perdomo (Gulf Coast League Astros) and right-hander Francisco Baso (Dominican Summer League Astros).

Herskowitz inducted into Media Wall of Honor

HOUSTON -- Mickey Herskowitz, a longtime sports writer and columnist for the Houston Chronicle and The Houston Post, was honored in a pregame ceremony Friday for being the 2010 inductee into the Houston Baseball Media Wall of Honor. He was presented a plaque by Astros owner Drayton McLane.

Herskowitz was selected as this year's inductee by a vote of season-credentialed media that cover the Astros, and he is the fourth individual to be inducted into the Wall of Honor, joining media pioneer Anita Martini, who was the inaugural inductee in 2007, former Astros radio broadcaster Gene Elston (2008) and former Chronicle beat writer Neil Hohlfeld (2009).

Herskowitz was one of Houston's original beat writers and columnists, having covered the team since its inception in 1962. He also authored books on historical figures and was the ghostwriter of several autobiographies. He is a Texas Baseball Hall of Fame inductee (1997) and is currently a journalism professor at Sam Houston State University.

The Astros also recognized their players of the decade as voted upon online throughout the season by the fans: Jimmy Wynn (1960s), Jose Cruz (1970s), Nolan Ryan (1980s), Jeff Bagwell (1990s) and Craig Biggio (2000s). All but Ryan, currently the co-owner and president of the Texas Rangers, were present for the brief ceremony.

Brian McTaggart is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.