© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/07/11 1:15 PM EST

Lee, Wandy honored for '11 campaigns

Downs recognized for breakout season off the bench

HOUSTON -- Astros first baseman Carlos Lee, who led the club in home runs and RBIs last season, was named the team's Player of the Year, and left-hander Wandy Rodriguez was named Pitcher of the Year.

As selected by MLB.com, awards have been designated in three categories -- Pitcher, Perfomer and Breakout Player -- for each of the 30 teams.

While the Astros trotted out 20 rookies during their 2011 campaign, it was 27-year-old Matt Downs who was named the team's Breakout Player of the Year after emerging as one of the league's top pinch-hitters and a legitimate home-run threat.

Team Awards 2011

Lee, who has one year remaining on his six-year, $100 million contract, hit .275 with 18 homers and 94 RBIs. He started the season in left field and wound up moving to first base, where he made a career-high 70 starts at the position.

Lee was tied for fourth in the National League with a club-best 38 doubles. He hit .336 with seven homers and 26 RBIs in the final 36 games of the season and batted .285 with 11 homers and 46 RBIs after the All-Star break.

Rodriguez, the longest current tenured player on the Astros, went 11-11 with a 3.49 ERA in 30 starts last season, reaching double-digit wins for the fourth time in his career. He's one of only seven pitchers in franchise history to win at least nine games in each of his seven Major League seasons.

Last season, Rodriguez became the franchise's all-time leader in strikeouts by a left-hander.

Downs averaged one home run every 19.9 at-bats, hitting .275 with 10 homers and 41 RBIs in part-time duty. He was a force off the bench, leading the Major Leagues with 15 pinch-hit RBIs and setting the Astros' record for most pinch-hit RBIs by a right-handed hitter.

Downs, who started 35 games at five different positions, also led the Majors with a .462 on-base percentage as a pinch-hitter and was tied for first in the league with three pinch-hit home runs, including a ninth-inning homer to beat the Rangers in Arlington on June 22. He hit .362 with runners in scoring position.

National Awards
MVP Cy Young ROY
Jeff Bagwell 1994 Mike Scott 1986 Jeff Bagwell 1991
Roger Clemens 2004
Manager of Year Rawlings Gold Glove Silver Slugger
Bill Virdon 1980 Doug Rader 1970 Jose Cruz 1983
Hal Lanier 1986 Doug Rader 1971 Dickie Thon 1983
Larry Dierker 1998 Doug Rader 1972 Jose Cruz 1984
Doug Rader 1973 Glenn Davis 1986
Roger Metzger 1973 Craig Biggio 1989
Cesar Cedeno 1973 Jeff Bagwell 1994
Doug Rader 1974 Craig Biggio 1994
Cesar Cedeno 1974 Craig Biggio 1995
Cesar Cedeno 1975 Jeff Bagwell 1997
Cesar Cedeno 1976 Craig Biggio 1997
Jeff Bagwell 1994 Moises Alou 1998
Craig Biggio 1994 Craig Biggio 1998
Craig Biggio 1995 Mike Hampton 1999
Craig Biggio 1996 Jeff Bagwell 1999
Craig Biggio 1997 Morgan Ensberg 2005
Brad Ausmus 2001 Carlos Lee 2007
Brad Ausmus 2002
Brad Ausmus 2006
Michael Bourn 2008
Roberto Clemente Award This Year in Baseball Award
Craig Biggio 2007 Craig Biggio 2007
Local Awards
Most Valuable Player Pitcher of the Year Rookie of the Year
Bob Lillis1962Darryl Kile1997John Hudek1994
Hal Woodeshick1963Shane Reynolds1998Brian Hunter1995
Bob Aspromonte1964Mike Hampton1999Billy Wagner1996
Jimmy Wynn1965Scott Elarton2000Chris Holt1997
Rusty Staub1966Wade Miller2001Scott Elarton1998
Rusty Staub1967Chuck McElroy2002Daryle Ward1999
Denis Menke1968Billy Wagner2003Mitch Meluskey2000
Larry Dierker1969Roger Clemens2004Roy Oswalt2001
Joe Morgan1970Andy Pettitte2005Ricky Stone2002
Don Wilson1971Roy Oswalt2006Brad Lidge2003
Cesar Cedeno1972Roy Oswalt2007Chad Qualls2004
Roger Metzger1973Jose Valverde2008Willy Taveras2005
Greg Gross1974Wandy Rodriguez2009Luke Scott2006
Bob Watson1975Hunter Pence2007
J.R. Richard1976Wesley Wright2008
Jose Cruz1977Jeff Fulchino2009
Enos Cabell1978
Joe Niekro1979
Jose Cruz1980
Nolan Ryan1981
Ray Knight1982
Jose Cruz1983
Jose Cruz1984
Bill Doran1985
Mike Scott1986
Bill Doran1987
Glenn Davis1988
Mike Scott1989
Danny Darwin1990
Jeff Bagwell1991
Doug Jones1992
Jeff Bagwell1993
Jeff Bagwell1994
Craig Biggio1995
Jeff Bagwell1996
Craig Biggio1997
Craig Biggio1998
Jeff Bagwell1999
Jeff Bagwell2000
Lance Berkman2001
Lance Berkman2002
Richard Hidalgo2003
Lance Berkman2004
Morgan Ensberg2005
Lance Berkman2006
Carlos Lee2007
Lance Berkman2008
Michael Bourn2009
Houston Area Major League
Player of the Year
Fred Hartman Award
for Long and Meritorious Service
Darryl Kile Award
Roger Clemens, BOS 1987 Donald Davidson 1985 Jeff Bagwell 2002
Greg Swindell, CLE 1988 Fred Hartman 1986 Roy Oswalt 2003
Nolan Ryan, TEX 1989 Gene Elston 1987 Morgan Ensberg 2004
Doug Drabek, PIT 1990 Jim "Doc" Ewell 1988 Brad Lidge 2005
Rogger Clemens, BOS; Greg Swindell, CLE 1991 Vivian Smith 1989 Lance Berkman 2006
Roger Clemens, BOS 1992 Allen Russell 1990 Woody Williams 2007
Jay Buehner, SEA 1993 Clark Nealon 1991 Hunter Pence 2008
Andy Pettitte, NYY 1994 Bob Green 1992 Brian Moehler 2009
Jay Buehner, SEA 1995 Tal Smith 1993
Andy Pettitte, NYY 1996 Billy Joe Bowman 1994
Roger Clemens, BOS 1997 Larry Dierker 1995
Roger Clemens, BOS 1998 Bob Watson 1996
Mike Jackson, CLE 1999 Bill Virdon 1997
Andy Pettitte, NYY 2000 Dennis Liborio 1998
Roger Clemens, BOS 2001 Mickey Herskowitz 1999
Kip Wells, PIT 2002 Milo Hamilton 2000
Andy Pettitte, NYY 2003 Wayne Graham 2001
Carl Crawford, TB 2004 Harry Shattuck 2002
Adam Dunn, CIN 2005 Charlie Maiorana 2003
Carl Crawford, TB 2006 Gerry Hunsicker 2004
Josh Beckett, BOS 2007 Gene Coleman 2005
James Loney, LAD 2008 Dan Cunningham 2006
Adam Dunn, WAS 2009 Jackie Moore 2007
Neil Hohlfeld 2008
Ivy McLemore 2009

Brian McTaggart is reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog, Tag's Lines. Follow @brianmctaggart on Twitter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.