6/21/2014 9:10 P.M. ET
Rays get credit for catch in first after challenge
By David Adler / MLB.com
ST. PETERSBURG -- The Rays wasted no time sending the umpires to replay position on Saturday against the Astros as manager Joe Maddon successfully challenged a no-catch call in the top of the first inning.
With two outs and nobody on base, Houston's George Springer hit a sinking line drive toward left-center field. Rays left fielder Brandon Guyer attempted to make a sliding catch for the third out, but the umpires ruled that the ball had hit the ground, and Springer slid into second base with a double.
"When I looked up, and he said it wasn't a catch, I was kind of shocked," Guyer said. "I knew if there was a good enough camera angle to get the shot -- I knew I caught it."
Maddon challenged the call, and after a review of 1 minute, 9 seconds, the ruling on the field was overturned, and the Rays retained their challenge, which they would not use in the 8-0 victory. Replays clearly showed that Guyer had gotten his glove fully under the ball and completed the catch.
"Guyer was adamant, and Guyer's one of those guys, you're not gonna get any fluff," Maddon said. "It's either 'Yes' or 'No,' 'I did' or 'I didn't.' So if he's coming in adamant that he caught it, I just had to wait for the technological thumbs up."
The challenge was Tampa Bay's 25th. Eight calls had been overturned, nine had stood as called and eight were confirmed.
David Adler is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.